Book Review – 48 Days to the Work You Love

As part of my journey to make the transition to becoming a professional author, I read a lot.  I’m a firm believer that Leaders are Readers, and I am going to read everything I can get my hands on.  This is going to include a variety of things:

  • Fiction – How better to get inspiration and see what other authors are doing than by reading current fiction?
  • Books on Writing – These are books on the craft and business of writing. In my first blog, I mentioned that I spent a year reading this stuff, and hadn’t made any real progress.  While I don’t want to fall into that trap again, I still intend to continue reading books on this.  I want to get better, let me learn from those who already have done what I seek to do.
  • Self-Improvement Books – Some people look down on these. After all, a book can’t make you do something you don’t want to do.  A book can’t force you to be motivated, or a better dad, or any number of things they might profess to do.  That said, I believe they can help keep you in the right frame of mind to remember that you can do anything.  I believe they can give you tools to use for life just as quickly as a book on writing can give me a tool to use in writing.  And so I will continue to read them as well.

Today’s book review will be in the third bucket.  This week, I read 48 Days to the Work You Love by Dan Miller.

The book was a fun read, but I’m not sure how much I can take home from it.

First, mechanically speaking:  He covers early on where the 48 days comes from, and it’s a great number.  That said, it doesn’t have the step-by-step approach you might want with a book title involving a timeline.  Usually, you would expect to see a breakdown by day or range of days what you are supposed to be doing, which is what I thought I would find going into the book.  Nope!  Dan covers why he thinks 48 days is the right number of days, and that’s the only time it’s mentioned.

That doesn’t take away from the content, though.  The core premise of the book can be summarized by:  Find something to do you love so much that you would do it for free, and then do it so well people will pay you for it.  He approaches this from a number of different angles, drawing upon extensive expertise both anecdotally and personally.  He goes to a lot of effort to convince you that, “Hey, I really can go be anybody I want!  I just need to go do it!”

After a trip through the “think big!” chapters, we get into the weeds a bit, covering some good topics about deciding whether or not you should be an entrepreneur (which is a nice change, since most books on this subject tend to live in “Go start your own business!” pretty firmly).    He goes into the key components of how to find jobs, how to build a resume, and how to interview successfully, which are definitely great skills to develop.

But that leads me to where the book sits with me.  I enjoyed it.  It was everything I hoped for bound between a leather cover completely with old paper musty smells (or a shrink-wrapped cardboard CD case, whichever is more inspirational to you).  My complication is that it’s a rehash of things I already know.

I know how to find a job (or career, or vocation, or whatever).
I know how to write a resume.
I know how to interview.

I know what I want to do has a lot of meaning and is worth pursuing… And that it can sustain me one day.   It’s the premise of this whole venture.

All things considered, I enjoyed the book.  It scratched the “I like to read inspirational stuff” itch, and helps me stay motivated and encouraged on my quest to succeed as an Author.

My rating:  4.25 / 5.00

Have you read this book?  What did you think of it?  Or are there other inspirational books that you enjoy reading?

Leave a Reply

