Shortstory Competitions

As I’ve meandered into this writing short-story… thing… I’ve recently been thinking about these competitions.

First, a nod to some locales that I think are great to find contests/opportunities for short stories:

http://www.freelancewriting.com/
http://writingcareer.com/

Thank you to the creators of these sites for compiling lots of opportunities to write into a single(errr, dual?) place for my ease.

Now, on to the rest of this post… I want to talk about the types of contests I see. First of all, I love writing competitions. I find I write a lot better with constraints. Situations where my brain has to find a solution that fits all the required components.

There are a few properties that you can find in writing competitions. Most are word-bound, and some have a topic (Construction, or Unicorns). I don’t want to cover those. I’d rather focus on the more unique/fun ideas.

First Line/Last Line – These have a line fed that you have to then build a story around.
“Bob, take out the trash before you kill your mother.” Go forth!

Picture – I really enjoy these contests. A picture is provided and it is our job to write a story inspired by the picture.

abstract-artwork-vector.jpg

What is this picture telling me?

3/4/5 Elements Challenge – This is probably my favorite. As author, you are given some number of seemingly disparate things, and then you have to find a way to link them all into a short story.
Rain, Chapter-Books, Chicken, September. Write something where these are all prominent features of the story.

Do you enjoy writing challenges? Where do you find yours? Are there other kinds of writing challenges you enjoy?

Leave a Reply

