Blog Post RECALL

It’s kinda funny that at just over a day after my first blog post about willingness to get personal, I’m going to get personal.  So, this a blog typed out of my normal schedule to cover a specific topic today.

I’ve decided I don’t like something about my blog.  I wrote a lot of this week’s posts earlier this week, including the writing prompt post that came out today.

I don’t like it.  I want to cancel it.

Don’t get me wrong, I love writing prompts.  I made a big post talking about hosting one.  I thought I wanted to… In retrospect, I feel like I need to eat my words.  I don’t want to run a writing prompt blog.

In the above post, I list the reasons I love flash fiction (and writing prompts specifically).  However, hosting my own doesn’t fulfill those goals.

  1. It doesn’t stretch me, since I came up with the prompt
  2. Prepping the right prompt takes time to prepare… Time I could spend on my blog or writing.
  3. It’s redundant to many other writing prompts out there… Ones already run by great people

I’ve already participated in several fun ones:

Flash Fiction For Aspiring Writers
Sometimes Stellar Story Teller
Writing the 200
Writing Practice over at Enette’s World

Why recreate the wheel?  In the spirit of hitting my goals, I need to focus energy on my ultimate goal:  Getting a novel published.  Anything not helping me drive towards that probably needs to take a backseat.  Maybe there will be a time when I want to do it, but I don’t think that time is now.

So I’m hitting RECALL on an entire blog topic. I’ve pulled the link from the main page, although I will probably leave the preexisting posts and link-up.  While this isn’t as monumental as say one that’s been going for years and has hundreds of participants as opposed to mine which had its second prompt today and no participants, I still wanted to keep everybody posted with what’s going on here.

So…

With that in mind… know of any good writing prompts that I could hop into?  (;

 

7 thoughts on “Blog Post RECALL

    1. Thanks for the link! Enjoyed the story. Sorry the prompt is ending before it began. I’m not yet at a point where I’m ready to upkeep a prompt. Thanks for reading it though, and once again, thought it was a great story!

      Like

  1. I have found myself slightly behind with blogosphere activity. Thus, have just finished my entry to your first prompt! I will post it anyway.

    Totally agree with this post. Do not get sidetracked from you true goals.

    A.R.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

