Review – Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone

Why I read this book:  I often read aloud to my wife to help her fall asleep and we she prefers books we’ve already read and that aren’t hugely stressful (since she’s trying to get to sleep after all!)  Out latest choice was Harry Potter.

What I thought of this book:  Fantastic, as always.  Probably the sixth or seventh time I’ve read it.  This is the first time I’ve read it with an author’s eye, however.

What I will do differently because of this book:  Rowling did a great job at having no filler or fluff.  There weren’t really parts of the book that I wanted to skip or just turn pages to get through.  Every scene mattered, and she had no trouble or concern just skipping over anything to get back to the “meat” of the story.  That’s something I’d like to emulate if I can.

 

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone (Harry Potter, #1)Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Not a whole lot I can say about this book that hasn’t already been covered by thousands of other reviews, most probably better than anything I have to say. This book set the stage for a series of excellent books and a deeper dive at the popularization of teenage fantasy and supernatural while struggling with the day-to-day of school life.
The story follows the hero’s journey of a boy stuck in an oppressive situation that discovers he carries within himself a greater power and a rich legacy that he will ultimately have to bring to bear against a greater evil. The characters are fun, and Rowling does an outstanding job of painting her settings as unique and believable (as believable as a magical university can be!). Some of the characters are a little stereotypical, but that doesn’t take anything away from them, as they still come to life with their own spins.
This is an iconic kickoff to a series that every reader should experience and is well-worth any time you spend reading it… Re-reads are just as fun.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

