A Time To Write

I have been a terrible steward of my blog in the past two weeks.  I’ve been struggling to hang onto my FFfAW to make sure that I’m not dropping it completely, but it hasn’t been the best showing.

I’ve certainly neglected all the wonderful blogs I follow and great content that they put out.  Promise I’ll rectify that soon!

I’ve been terrible on the writing front for about two weeks.  I’ve tried to switch up my sleep schedule and write in the mornings.  This was a terrible mistake.  I want to be that guy… But I’m not.  So let’s take a peek at it.

When do you write?

Popular literature, common sense, and Benjamin Franklin say that getting up early is the way to go.  Why do so many people advocate writing first thing in the morning.

1. Pay yourself first

What does this mean?  I’ve used this expression in other places, and it’s typically used for finances (specifically, saving).  It means that before you do anything else with your money, you should sweep the amount you want to save away immediately.  You’ll build your week/month/whatever around the new total you have left.

For writing, this means time.  Get that writing done immediately… Or you’ll always find other things in life creeping up and taking that time.  You’ll look back at the end of the day and say, “Man, I wish I had managed to get some writing done today.”  When you pay yourself first, you get your writing done quickly, so it’s not looming over you.

2. Fewer Distractions

Life is busy.  I’ve got somewhere between 1 and 18 million things going on at any given moment.

But let’s face it.  Most of life doesn’t get started until 7, at the very earliest… More likely somewhere in the vicinity of 8 or even 9.  If you get up at 5, there’s nothing good on TV, nobody is up to chat with.  The reality is that there is far less to keep you from focusing purely on writing.

3. Write while you are fresh

At the end of a very long day, a lot of times you want to just “vege out.”  Let your brain ooze out through your nose.  And why not?  You’ve earned it.  So you start getting into your relaxation cycle.  By the time you pull out that keyboard to start on your writing plan, your brain has already checked out.

You’re tired.  You’re beat.  You just want to gets some rest. Big enemy of writing.

These are all great reasons.

They just don’t work for me.

I prefer the evening writing schedule.  I’ve actually gotten more written this evening than I have in probably the last two weeks.

Here’s why evenings work:

1. My kids wake up when I get up too early.  I try to sneak past their door, and sure enough, I’ve got multiple kids wanting my attention.  I love my kids and want to show attention… But it makes it hard to write.

2.  I don’t like waking up early.  I’m sluggish.  I’m exhausted.  And I’m really good at rationalizing to my still mostly asleep mind why I should stay home.  That said,  this past week, I’ve actually gotten out of bed each day… But did nothing with that.  Maybe I take an early shower.  Maybe I climb back in bed.  Maybe I just stare blankly.  Regardless, not a lot of writing getting done.

3.  My brain doesn’t wake up until later.  Even if I manage to get past the first two bullets, this one always gets me.  I stare at the screen and make zero progress.  My eyes drift closed, and soon I’m not paying attention to the flashing cursor in front of me.

4.  At night, I can recall things I’ve seen or done during the day.  This gives me content to put in the stories.  By the time I sleep, all of that is gone.  Pushed back to “long-term.”

I don’t know that my way is right or wrong, but it’s the one that works for me.  When do you get your writing done?

8 thoughts on “A Time To Write

    1. I know how you feel. Those are the reasons I was trying to switch to writing in the morning. I felt I could get more productive. I just wish it had turned out that way! Alas, I now know I must do my writing in the evenings if I am to do any writing at all.

      Like

Leave a Reply

