Sunshine Blogger

I was nominated by Irena over at Books and Hot Tea for the Sunshine blogger award.  Thanks Irena!

I’m not going to pass it on at this time, but I did want to answer the questions she posed:

My Questions:

1. What is your favourite non-fiction book?

Probably “On Writing” by Stephen King.  Really an outstanding read by an amazingly successful author.  He gives great tips on being a writer while also showing a glimpse into his life… the core that helped him get to where he is.

2. Vampires, witches or fairies? Or something else?

Hmm, since I don’t know what else to compare to, I’ll go with Fairies… But let’s say the Unseelie Court rather than the traditional ones you see.  Those guys are dangerous and wicked.

If I had to pick a “something else,” I’m going to go with Mummies.  I really don’t feel like they get enough love.  Vampires, Werewolves, and Zombies are pretty played out at this point.  Mummies are pretty freaking frightening.

3. What are some of your favourite bands or musicians?

So many.  I have a pretty diverse appetite for music and listen to just about everything with the exception of Thug Rap or Death Metal.  The last 8 songs on my pandora were: Three Doors Down, Sugarland, Adele, Lifehouse, Christina Perri, Taylor Swift, One Republic, Guster.

4. Sunshine or moonlight?

Moonlight for sure.  I burst into flames in the sun… Nearly literally (I burn very easily).

5. Do you prefer first person or third person narrative?

Great question.  Depends.  When I write, I tend towards 3rd person… But recently I’ve been toying with 1st.  Ditto on the reading front.  Most of my books were 3rd person, but I’ve recently fallen into reading some bestsellers that are all 1st person, and it’s been pretty enjoyable to see how 1st person narrators keep secrets from the reader.

6. Which is the last book, film or series that made you cry (or really sad). (Because I can’t get over something that happened in Black Sails XD)

Inside Out (Pixar movie) makes me weep like a baby every time I watch it.  Sacrifice for love makes me cry.

7. What superpowers would you like to have?

Timestop.  I don’t have enough time to get through everything I want to… It’d be great to stop my aging and stop time so I can get more done.  Plus it covers just about everything else you would want as well.

8. Who are your favourite villains? (From books or tv.)

I like any villain that is seriously manipulative… IE: They get away with being a villain because nobody wants to believe they are a villain… Or if even if it is believed, nobody can do anything about it.  I’m sure if I spent more time, I could think of some better ones, but here are the first two that jump out at me right now:

Bester (Babylon 5)
Mother Gothel (Tangled)

9. What is your idea of having a good time?

Having nothing _else_ to do.  It might be devouring a book.  It might be writing until danw.  It might be spending time with my kids.  But when I am in a situation that I only have to think about the task at hand rather than the thousand other things I have going on in life… That’s a rare treat.

10. Share a quote you like.

Begin each day like you meant for it to happen.

11. Give me a book recommendation.:)

Magic Casement by Dave Duncan.  It’s part one of 4 that has a really interesting look at magic.  The female lead changes a lot over the course of the story, and the male lead shaped my ideals of dedication.

One thought on “Sunshine Blogger

  1. I agree with you when it comes to superpowers, timestop is something I often dream about xD And I loved Inside Out as well!
    Your recommendation looks interesting, I’ll check it out. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

