Book Review – The Lincoln Lawyer

Why I read this book:  It was turned into a movie and it was 10 cents at the used book store.   I figured it was worth reading a crime/legal drama/thriller, so I’ve done so.  Ironically, I’m a fantasy/sci-fi primary reader, and I haven’t reviewed any yet.

Did I enjoy this book:  Surprisingly, yes.  I won’t lie, I wasn’t expecting much from it, but it was probably one of the most productive (and entertaining) reads I’ve had this month.

What did I learn from this book:  Once again (Like gone-girl the week before), I get a book where the narrator is keeping some secrets from me.  I’ve watched the style now from two different authors, and have spotted some techniques I’d like to leverage that builds suspense and keeps the reader guessing what I have up my sleeve.  The biggest thing I walk away from with this book:  My typical genre (fantasy/sci-fi) books don’t do much for plot twists and suspense building, and I realize that now.  I’ll probably put out a separate post on this, but this book taught me a lot about building suspense and tension.

The Lincoln Lawyer (Mickey Haller, #1)The Lincoln Lawyer by Michael Connelly

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

The Lincoln Lawyer was my first Legal Suspense Thriller, and it was a great book to start on. The general synopsis (spoiler free) is that a slick defense attorney for hire (Mickey Haller) gets pulled into a big money case that promises him riches beyond anything he’s ever gotten before with a client who (like them all) professes to be innocent of the heinous crime to which he’s accused. Is Haller works and investigates the case, the stakes continue to raise and connections are made to prior cases that make him question everything as he is faced with (as the book summary says) a truly innocent man and pure evil.

The characters are interesting, but not terribly original. However, the situations and cases that Mickey is working while we follow the main plot are colorful and fun, making even backstory seem pretty interesting. Where this book really shines is its plot. The Lincoln Lawyer is full of twists and turns that will keep you on your toes and have you second-guessing yourself the whole way.

View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “Book Review – The Lincoln Lawyer

Leave a Reply

