Re-Start Your Fiction

Greetings all!

So it’s been a little over 2 months since I’ve posted anything; Probably 3 since I’ve written anything.  I had a lot of lies I told myself when I stopped and why I didn’t restart:

  1. Working on the blog has taken me away from what my true passion is: Writing that story.
  2. Challenge to myself:  I’m not going to do any more blogging UNTIL I get one short story finished.
  3. I’m transitioning from fiction into a non-fiction blog on leadership and career coaching.
  4. The premise of the blog isn’t good.  I’m not even a published author… How can I make judgments on what is good or bad?
  5. I’ve got a lot going on.

I told myself all of these things, but not even the last one is a good enough reason.

So where have I been?

A few things have been going on that have pulled me away:

  1. We started the year-end process at work, so it gets really busy for me as we start having performance and compensation conversations with everybody.
  2. My wife is getting towards the end of the pregnancy, and we have a million things to do at home to get ready for another baby.
  3. Kids started school back up, which cuts means I need to get to bed an hour earlier to get them ready in the morning.
  4. I started playing some video games again
  5. Frankly, I just lost motivation.

I’ve known through all this that writing is hard work, and books don’t write themselves, and blah blah blah… But man.  It really is tough work.  While I love the stories in my head, sometimes the act of getting them on paper is a siege.

That said, I’ve rekindled myself (literally; just bought my first kindle).  I tried the non-fiction thing, and while it’s a lot easier for me to write, it only inspired a deeper need within me to get my stories out there.  I’ve got renewed focus on making sure my book gets written.

This blog may take a different form… I intend to leverage it a bit more as a mental journal as I work on one story… Forgetting everything I’ve read about marketing, and building a following, and all that good stuff.  I’m not going to get fixated on my nightly schedule, or all the other things I’d like to participate in.  I just want need to get my books done.  It’s going to happen.  The blog posts may not be as consistent as they were, but they’ll do what I originally designed the blog for:  Chronicle my journey from writer to author as I start my first fiction… And get it done.

Hope you enjoy  the journey with me.

How do you stay motivated?

2 thoughts on “Re-Start Your Fiction

  1. Welcome back! Its hard to get in the habit of writing. There’s so much we have to learn about ourselves as writers, let alone perfecting our craft. You definitely have a lot going on. Good luck with the new baby!
    Q: How do I keep myself motivated?
    A: Every darn thing I can find. Number one is to remind myself to “keep not giving up.”

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks. “Not giving up” is a great way to look at… It seems easy, but it’s crazy hard. Emotionally, I’ve never given up. In my head I know I want to be the writer, but the challenging part is when I analyze what I’m doing about it and realize my actions don’t say the same thing my head does.

      One thing I read was in the book “Quitter” by Jon Acuff: He said he likes to imagine himself in a plane crash. When that happens, you review the things in your life “you wish you had done.” I try to think about what those things are for me, and then make sure I’m spending time in those areas.

      Keep not giving up!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

